Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar

Type of the institute: Indian Institute of Technology
Complete Mailing Address: Toshali Bhawan, PO: Satyanagar, Bbubaneswar - 751007, Odisha, INDIA
Contact Person For Admission: Mr. Manas Kumar Behera
Designation: Assistant Registrar
Alternate Email:  
Phone Nos: 91-674-2576019,2576005
Fax No: 91-674-2572983

Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar was set up by the Government of India in 2008. Currently, the Institute has 537 students in the Bachelor of Technology programme in Civil, Computer Science & Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Metallurgical & Materials Engineering. In the academic year 2015-16, the Institute will offer B. Tech. programmes in Civil, Computer Science & Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering with an intake of 40 students in each discipline and 20 students in Metallurgical & Materials Engineering.

The Institute promotes a borderless interdisciplinary academic environment to encourage the academic staff and students to work together through the concept of Schools rather than Departments. Currently, the Institute has School of Basic Sciences; School of Earth, Ocean and Climate Sciences; School of Electrical Sciences; School of Humanities, Social Sciences and Management; School of Infrastructure; School of Mechanical Sciences and School of Mineral, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering.

The Institute presently offers the following programmes:

·         4 year B. Tech. Degree programme

·         Joint M.Tech.-Ph.D. Programme

·         Joint M.Sc.-Ph.D. Programme

·         Ph. D. Programme

 The credit based curriculum for B.Tech. programme is spread over 8-semesters and includes summer internship, as well as research projects. For evaluation in a subject, the Institute follows a seven-point grading system with letter grades and the corresponding grade points per credit. The Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) is computed at the end of each semester. The CGPA obtained by a student reflects his/her performance up to and including that semester. However students who will secure a minimum final CGPA of 8.50 with minimum “A” grad in the final year project will be awarded B. Tech. (Hons.) degree.  

Faculty : 

IIT Bhubneswar has versatile group of faculty members including visiting faculty from old IITs and reputed universities. All faculty members hold Ph. D. degree from reputed national and international institutions and many of them have international postdoctoral research experiences. The basic focus of the faculty members are quality teaching, research and technology development. Several research and consultancy projects have been awarded to the faculty members from the sponsoring agencies such as CSIR, DST, DBT, DRDO, ISRO, DEIT etc. They are also actively involved in publishing paper, attending the international conferences/workshops/ symposium, chairing session of the conferences.


IIT Bhubaneswar is presently operating from the following locations in the city of Bhubaneswar: IIT Kharagpur Extension Centre at Samantapuri, Toshali Bhawan at Satyanagar. The students are able to access the facilities of Central Tool Room and Training Center, Central Institute of Plastics Engineering & Technology and Institute of Minerals and Materials Technology for hands-on training. The academic campus is Wi-Fi enabled and equipped with class rooms having audio-visual aid, well- equipped laboratories, library, high bandwidth internet and video conferencing facility. From the 2015-16 academic session, the institute will shift to its permanent campus at Argul in a phased manner.



The Samantapuri Campus is about 8 km from Bhubaneswar Railway Station and 12 km from the city Airport.

The Toshali Bhawan, Satyanagar campus is about 1 km from Bhubaneswar Railway Station and 5 km from city Airport.

Private/Pre-paid taxi can be hired to reach the Institute. The permanent campus at Argul is about 30 Km from the Bhubaneswar City and 38 Km from city Airport.  

1.  Fee Structure of B.Tech. Programme (Indian National)
Caution Money Amount  
Institute Fee (Refundable) 2,500  
Library (Refundable) 2,500  
Hostel (Refundable) 4,000  
Mess (Refundable) 3,000  
Institute Amenities Security (Refundable) -------  
One Time Fee    
Statutory Fee 1,000  
Alumni Subscription 500  
Medical Examination 200  
Students' Welfare Fund 200  
Hostel Admission fee 2,000  
Identity Card Fees 100  
Provisional Certificate Fees 200  
Grade Card Fees 500  
Admission Fees 200  
Career Development Fee 500  
Library Fees 500  
Semester Fee    
Tuition Fee 45,000  
Registration 200  
Examination 500  
Students Amenities 600  
Internet Connectivity 500  
Laboratory Contingency 1,000  
Hostel Seat Rent 500  
Electricity & Water Charges 1,500  
Student Benefit Fund 200  
Annual Fees    
Medical Insurance Fees 700  
Gymkhana 500  
Hostel Charges (Six Monthly)    
Mess Advance 12,000  
Hostel Establishment Charges 7,300  
Grand Total (New Admission) 88,400/-  
 *100% Tuition fee waiver for SC/ST students i.e. Total = Rs.43,400/-    
Academic Program Code Academic Program Name OPEN OPEN-PwD SC SC-PwD ST ST-PwD OBC-NCL OBC-NCL-PwD Total State/All India Seats
4109 Civil Engineering (4 Years, Bachelor of Technology) 19 1 6 0 3 0 11 0 40 All India
4110 Computer Science and Engineering (4 Years, Bachelor of Technology) 19 1 6 0 2 1 11 0 40 All India
4111 Electrical Engineering (4 Years, Bachelor of Technology) 19 1 6 0 3 0 11 0 40 All India
4125 Mechanical Engineering (4 Years, Bachelor of Technology) 20 0 6 0 3 0 10 1 40 All India
4127 Metallurgical and Materials Engineering (4 Years, Bachelor of Technology) 10 0 2 1 2 0 5 0 20 All India
  Total Seats 87 3 26 1 13 1 48 1 180  
Get Free Exam/Admission

News & Notification

  • Test